The Maniapoto Māori Trust Board (MMTB) held the Triennial Election of Trustees over a four week voting period that opened on Friday 23 April and closed at 12 noon Friday 21 May 2021.

The official results have now been confirmed, with six Trustees elected. It was declared that Keith Ikin, Bella Takiari-Brame, Rachael Tuwhangai, Dan Te Kanawa, Luke Moss and Wikitōria Tāne are the successful candidates as generally elected Trustees for the MMTB. Final results are as follows:


Candidate Votes Received
IKIN, Keith 1,706
TAKIARI-BRAME, Bella 1,468
TUWHANGAI, Rachael 1,468
TE KANAWA, Dan 1,247
MOSS, Luke 1,238
TĀNE, Wikitōria 1,157
ROACH, Tasmyn 1,078
WOOSTER, Derek Kotuku 1,078
TOOTILL, Glenn 1,039
SHEARER, Aloma Kahurangi Marae 1,021
RAUPUTU, Paul 829
MANAIA, Barney 739
TAYLOR, Patrick Louis 311


The voter return percentage was 22.22%, being 3,077 votes received from 13,848 eligible electors, of which 42.80% voted by post and 57.20% voted online.

“All fourteen candidates were of an impressive calibre and were worthy potential Board Members. I express our many thanks to all candidates that stood for election and those who participated in this process. I would also like to acknowledge current trustees whose terms have come to an end. Your expertise and wisdom provided over your respective terms have been invaluable. We look forward to progressing the next part of our journey with our new Board from July” says MMTB Chief Executive, Cadence Kaumoana.