In December 2020, the Maniapoto Māori Trust Board (MMTB) initialled a Deed of Settlement (DOS) with the Crown with respect to the historical Treaty of Waitangi claims of Ngāti Maniapoto.
Following many consultative hui over the past five years, MMTB are now seeking for all those aged 18 and over who whakapapa to Maniapoto tupuna to vote on three key matters by way of resolutions. These are:

Resolution 1I approve the Ngāti Maniapoto Deed of Settlement and authorise the signing of the Deed of Settlement by the Maniapoto Māori Trust Board on behalf of Ngāti Maniapoto.

Resolution 2 – I approve Te Nehenehenui as the Post Settlement Governance Entity to receive, hold and manage the Treaty of Waitangi historical settlement redress on behalf of Ngāti Maniapoto.

Resolution 3I agree to ratify the constitutional documents of Te Nehenehenui, for the purposes of the Māori Fisheries Act 2004 and the Māori Commercial Aquaculture Claims Settlement Act 2004 and agree it should replace the Maniapoto Māori Trust Board as the Ngāti Maniapoto Mandated Iwi Organisation and Iwi Aquaculture Organisation for the purposes of those Acts.

Fifteen ratification hui (listed below) have been scheduled where information on the Deed of Settlement (DOS), Post Settlement Governance Entity (PSGE) and Mandated Iwi Organisation and Iwi Aquaculture Organisation (MIO/IAO) transfer will be provided. Some of these hui will be livestreamed for those that are unable to attend in person. All whānau are invited to come along and learn about the proposed settlement package offered by the Crown and to learn about the structure, role and responsibilities of the proposed PSGE, and the MIO/IAO transfer. Attendees will have the opportunity to register and vote on the DOS, the PSGE and the MIO/IAO transfer proposals.


Te Wā me Te Rā

5:30pm, Monday, 12th July 2021
Te Kūiti – Te Kūiti Pā, Awakino Road

5:30pm, Tuesday, 13th July 2021

Taumarunui – Central Park Motor Inn & Conference Centre, 7 Maata Street


5:30pm, Wednesday, 14th July 2021
Piopio* – Mōkau Kohunui, 20 Moa Street


10am, Saturday, 17th July 2021
Maniaiti – Te Hape Marae, 1038 State Highway 30, Benneydale


3pm, Saturday, 17th July 2021
Ōtorohanga* – Rereamanu Marae, 465 Te Kūiti Road


10am, Sunday, 18th July 2021
Hamilton* – Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts, The University of Waikato, Gate 2B, Knighton Road


3:30pm, Sunday, 18th July 2021
Kāwhia – Mōkai Kāinga Marae, 11 Aotea Road


6pm, Tuesday, 20th July 2021
Wellington – Pipitea Marae & Function Centre, 55-59 Thorndon Quay


6pm, Wednesday, 21st July 2021
Nelson – Beachside Conference and Event Centre, 70 Beach Road, Tāhunanui


6pm, Thursday, 22nd July 2021
Christchurch – Ōtautahi Sports Association, 485 Tuam Street, Phillips Town


6pm, Tuesday, 27th July 2021
Auckland* – Te Puea Marae, 41 Miro Road, Māngere Bridge


6pm, Wednesday, 28th July 2021
Napier – The Crown Hotel, Corner Bridge Street & Hardinage Road, Ahuriri


6pm, Thursday, 29th July 2021
Palmerston North – Distinction Hotel, 175 Cuba Street


6pm, Tuesday, 3rd August 2021
Rotorua* – Holiday Inn, 10 Tyron Street, Whakarewarewa


Saturday, 7th August 2021
Gold Coast – TBC

*These hui will be live streamed

The voting period commences at 12pm on Monday 5th July 2021 and closes at 12pm on Monday 16th August 2021.


Voting Arrangements

All iwi members who are registered with MMTB, and are 18 years and over with a current mailing address, will be sent a voting pack on Monday 5th July. The pack includes a ratification information booklet, voting form, return envelope and hui details card. Votes can be submitted in person at the ratification hui, by post (in the freepost envelope enclosed in the ratification information pack), or online at


Special Votes

If you are not registered you can still vote by way of special vote using a special voting pack. You will need to complete a registration or verification form (which verifies your whakapapa and eligibility to vote). Special votes can be cast at any of the ratification information hui or by contacting the independent election company (Electionz at For your special vote to be counted, your registration or verification must be confirmed. You will not need to register on the MMTB Tribal Register to cast a special vote but you will be required to fill in a whakapapa verification form to vote.

Whānau who are eligible to vote are those who descend from a Maniapoto tupuna such as Rereahu and his children, or Hiaroa or Rakataura and either turn 18 years old on or before the voting closing date.

A full copy of the DOS and the PSGE Trust Deed will be made available at prior to voting opening.

For voting enquiries please call the Electionz helpline on 0800 666 045 or email

For DOS and PSGE enquiries, please email us at