The Kawenata Awards is a prestigious event that celebrates contribution and achievement across all sectors of Te Nehenehenui.  It is also the symbolic flagship of the 1904 Kawenata (Covenant) of Ngāti Maniapoto me ōna hapū maha inaugurated at the Māhoenui residence of Te Rangituataka Tākerei on Friday 1st January 1904.

The awards are open to affiliates of Ngāti Maniapoto me ōna hapū maha living locally and globally and all nationalities residing within the Te Nehenehenui region since the 1st of December of the previous awards event.

Are now open and close 5pm Sunday 8th November 2020.  All nominations will be assessed by a panel of judges and all finalists will be notified by email.

Award Categories
The five principle-based categories are Aroha, Whakapono, Ture, Māoritanga and Kotahitanga.  Within the 5 categories are 5 primary sections.


Nomination Form can be found here:  Click here


Aroha Awards
Defined by individuals who are regarded considerate and respectful.  These are individuals who contribute in meaningful ways and preserve dignity and integrity of oneself and others.  Individuals can be nominated in,
Security: Wardens, Mediation, Police
Hospitality: Wharekai, Catering, Accommodation
Community Services: Librarian, Museum, Information Centre
Early Childhood: Kōhanga, Early Learning Centre
Environment: Land, Ocean, Forest, Air

Whakapono Awards
Defined by individuals who are spirited and trustworthy.  These are individuals who see beyond the present time and devote time and energy unconditionally.  Individuals can be nominated in,
Research: Genealogy, History, Taonga Preservation & Restoration
Administration: Office, Tribal, Marae
Astronomy: Science, Matariki, Meteorological
Agriculture: Farming, Horticulture, Hydroponic
Sport: Physical Activity, Inclusive Activity, Traditional Sport, Recreation

Ture Awards
Defined by individuals who can collaborate and navigate.  These are individuals who generate relationships and remain honest and impartial always.  Individuals can be nominated in,
Industrial: Entrepreneur, Business, Management, Trade
Education: Primary, Secondary, Tertiary, Alternative
Politics: Tribal Governance, Local Governance, National Governance
Medical: General Practitioner, Hospital, Neurosurgeon, Plastic Surgery
Emergency Services: Ambulance, Fire, Police, Earthquake, Tsunami, Search & Rescue.

Māoritanga Awards
Defined by individuals who are dedicated practitioners in their field.   These are individuals who maintain traditional and contemporary principles and personify their practises endlessly.  Individuals can be nominated in,
Creative Arts: Raranga, Whakairo, Visual Arts, Photography
Ambassadorial: Te Reo, Tikanga, Legislation, Religious
Hunting & Game: Pig, Deer, Fishing
Oratory: Paepae, Event Presenters, School
Media / Journalism: Paper, Online, On-screen, On-air

Kotahitanga Awards
Defined by individuals who are inclusive and fair minded.   These are individuals who embrace all aspects of life and everything in it and consider the holistic wellbeing of the universe.  Individuals can be nominated in,
Events: Tribal, Urban, Rural
Performing Arts: Group or Individual, Hip hop, Kapa Haka, Band
Martial Arts: Army, Navy, Airforce, Whare Tūtauā
Transport: Railway, Air, Road, Oceanic
Tribal Service: King Movement, Minister, Events, Negotiation

Te Rangituataka Supreme Award
This is the highest award that recognises outstanding performance in leadership.  The successful recipient will be determined by a select group.


For more information please email us at